UCL Membership, 2009-2010

The University Committee on Libraries reviews policies and practices relating to library resources and services and provides oversight of the development of the libraries. It constitutes a principal interface among the campus units responsible for providing information resources and services, and also serves as a communications link between the libraries and the University community.

The committee consists of the director of University Libraries, the director of the Law Library, the chief information officer or his or her designee, and 13 others: one elected by and from the teaching and research faculty of the Law School, the Mendoza College of Business, the College of Engineering, the College of Science, the division of the humanities of the College of Arts and Letters, the division of social sciences of the College of Arts and Letters, and the School of Architecture together with the division of the arts of the College of Arts and Letters; one elected by and from the faculty of the University Libraries; three elected at large by and from the teaching and research faculty of the University; and two student members. Student members are selected annually according to procedures approved by the committee. Elected members serve staggered three-year terms.

The committee annually elects a chair from the elected members. It meets at least twice each semester, publishes its approved minutes, and reports annually to the Academic Council.


All terms expire at the end of the academic year.

Sabine MacCormack
History (at-large, expires '11/'12)

Randy Coleman
Art, Art History and Design Department (Arts and Letters~Fine Arts, expires '11/'12)

Edmund Edmonds
Law Library (ex officio)

Kasey Swanke
Graduate Student, Political Science (Graduate Student Representative)

Sherri Jones
Hesburgh Libraries (expires '10/'11)

Andy Gould
Political Science (Arts and Letters~Social Sciences, expires '09/'10)

Semion Lyandres
History (Humanities, expires '10/'11)

Joseph Powers
Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Engineering, expires '09/'10)

Jennifer Mason McAward
Law School (Law, expires '10/'11)

Andrew Sommese
Mathematics Department (at-large, expires '10/'11)

JoAnna Roman
Undergraduate Student Representative

Laurence R. Taylor, Chair
Mathematics (Science, expires '10/'11)

Barry Keating

Finance (Business '10/'11)

Paul Turner for Gordon Wishon
Office of Information Technology (ex officio)

Jennifer A. Younger
Director of Libraries (ex officio)

Past Membership

Pages maintained by Michele Wolff, Senior Administrative Assistant to the Director of Hesburgh Libraries

Home || Agendas || Minutes || Annual Reports || Documentation || Members