Mathematics Awards

Fields Medal

Professor J. C. Fields, a Canadian mathematician donated funds establishing the Fields Medals to recognize both existing work and the promise of future achievement. Up to four medals are awarded at each International Congress of Mathematicians.

Wolf Prize

The Wolf prize was established in 1978 to promote science and art for the benefit of mankind. Five or six yearly prizes are awarded for achievement in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among people. The fields recgonized are Agriculture, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Music, Painting and Sculpture.

Abel Prize

The Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund was established on 1 January 2002, to award the Abel Prize for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics. It is awarded annually by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

Gauss Prize

The Gauss Prize prize is to honor scientists whose mathematical research has had an impact outside mathematics, either in technology, in business, or simply in people's everyday lives. It is awarded jointly by the Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung (DMV = German Mathematical Union) and the International Mathematical Union (IMU)  

AMS Prizes

AMS prizes and awards recognize outstanding achievement in mathematical research, exceptional public service in support of research and education in the mathematical sciences, and significant contributions to the public understanding of mathematics. 

SIAM Prizes

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics awards prizes and lectureships for original research and broad and extended contributions to the fields of applied and computational science.