UCL Membership, 2012-2013

The University Committee on Libraries reviews policies and practices relating to library resources and services and provides oversight of the development of the Hesburgh Libraries. It constitutes a principal interface among the campus units responsible for providing information resources and services, and also serves as a communications link between the Libraries and the University community.

The Committee consists of the University Librarian, the director of the Law Library, the chief information officer or his or her designee, and 13 others: one elected by and from the teaching and research faculty of the Law School, the Mendoza College of Business, the College of Engineering, the College of Science, the division of the humanities of the College of Arts and Letters, the division of social sciences of the College of Arts and Letters, and the School of Architecture together with the division of the arts of the College of Arts and Letters; one elected by and from the faculty of the University Libraries; three elected at large by and from the teaching and research faculty of the University; and two student members. Student members are selected annually according to procedures approved by the committee. Elected members serve staggered three-year terms.

The committee annually elects a chair from the elected members. It meets at least twice each semester, publishes its approved minutes, and reports annually to the Academic Council.


All terms expire at the end of the academic year.

Doug Archer
Hesburgh Libraries (expires '13/'14)

Gary Bernstein
Electrical Engineering (Engineering, expires '12/'13)

Max Brown
Undergraduate Student Representative

Jon Coleman
History (College of Arts and Letters, at-large, expires '14/'15)

Dennis Doordan
Art, Art History and Design (Architecture, expires '14/'15)

Edmund Edmonds
Kresge Law Library (ex officio)

Stephen Fredman
English (Humanities, expires '13/'14)

Barbara Fick
Law School (Law, expires '13/'14)

Barry Keating
Finance (Business '13/'14)

Ron Kraemer
Office of Information Technology (ex officio)

Marya Lieberman, Chair
Chemistry (T&R Faculty at-large, expires '13/'14)

Semion Lyandres, Co-Chair
History (T&R Faculty at-large, expires '13/'14)

Lyn Spillman
Sociology (Arts and Letters~Social Sciences, expires '12/'13)

Laurence R. Taylor
Mathematics (Science, expires '13/'14)

Zack Terranova
Graduate Student Representative

Diane Parr Walker
Edward H. Arnold University Librarian (ex officio)

Past Membership

Pages maintained by Michele Wolff, Senior Administrative Assistant to the University Librarian of Hesburgh Libraries

Home || Agendas || Minutes || Annual Reports || Documentation || Members