UCL Membership, 2014-2015

The University Committee on Libraries reviews policies and practices relating to library resources and services and provides oversight of the development of the Hesburgh Libraries. It constitutes a principal interface among the campus units responsible for providing information resources and services, and also serves as a communications link between the Libraries and the University community.

The Committee consists of the University Librarian, the director of the Law Library, the chief information officer or his/her designee, and 13 others: one elected by and from the teaching and research faculty of the Law School, the Mendoza College of Business, the College of Engineering, the College of Science, the division of the humanities of the College of Arts and Letters, the division of social sciences of the College of Arts and Letters, and the School of Architecture together with the division of the arts of the College of Arts and Letters; one elected by and from the faculty of the University Libraries; three elected at large by and from the teaching and research faculty of the University; and two student members. Student members are selected annually according to procedures approved by the committee. Elected members serve staggered three-year terms.

The committee annually elects a chair from the elected members. It meets at least twice each semester, publishes its approved minutes, and reports annually to the Academic Council.


All terms expire at the end of the academic year.

Matt Barrett
Law School (Law, expires ‘16/’17)

Peter Burns
Civil Engineering (Engineering, expires ‘15/’16)

Jon Coleman
History (Arts and Letters, T&R Faculty at-large, expires ‘14/’15)

Christopher DeSapio
Undergraduate Student Representative (expires '14/'15)

Meredith Doellman
Graduate Student Representative (expires '14/'15)

Dennis Doordan
Art, Art History and Design (Architecture, Arts and Letters, expires ‘14/’15)

David Dressing
Hesburgh Libraries (expires '16/'17)

Kathleen Eberhard
Psychology (Soc. Sci., Arts and Letters, expires ‘15/’16)

Edmund Edmonds
Kresge Law Library (Ex Officio)

Mike Hildreth
Physics (Science, T&R Faculty at-large, expires '16/'17)

Barry Keating
Finance (Business, expires ‘16/’17)

Ron Kraemer
Office of Information Technology (Ex Officio)

Marya Lieberman, Chair
Chemistry & Biochemistry (Science, T&R Faculty at-large, expires ‘16/’17)

Thomas Marullo
German & Rusisian Languages & Literature, (Arts & Letters, T&R Faculty at-large, expires '16/'17)

Pierpaolo Polzonetti
Program of Liberal Studies, (Humanities, Arts & Letters, expires '16/'17)

Diane Parr Walker
Edward H. Arnold University Librarian (Ex Officio)

Past Membership

Pages maintained by Michele Wolff, Senior Administrative Assistant to the University Librarian of Hesburgh Libraries

Home || Agendas || Minutes || Annual Reports || Documentation || Members