Hesburgh Libraries > HathiTrust FAQ

hathitrust image

Frequently Asked Questions

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository that includes over ten million volumes from partner library collections, digitized as part of the Google Books project, the Internet Archive project, or by individual partner libraries. The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, and includes about two million volumes in the public domain that may be viewed online. Partner library users can download these public domain titles as complete ebooks.

General

Are HathiTrust ebooks available in the catalog?
Who can access HathiTrust ebooks?
What additional features does logging in provide?

Printing

How do I print HathiTrust ebooks?

Downloading

Can ebooks be downloaded to my computer?
How do I download an ebook?


General

Are HathiTrust ebooks available in the catalog?
HathiTrust ebooks are not yet available in the catalog but they will be added in the near future. For now, users must search directly at http://www.hathitrust.org. (Back to top)

Who can access HathiTrust ebooks?
Anyone may search the HathiTrust Digital Library and may also access the full text of volumes in the public domain. The ability to download the full text of public domain works is restricted to current Notre Dame students, faculty and staff with a valid NetID. Guests and visitors who are physically visiting the Libraries will not be able to download the full text. (Back to top)

What additional features does logging in provide?
Logging in provides the ability to download full-PDFs of volumes that are in the public domain. It also facilitates access to the Collection Builder. The Collection Builder allows you to create and save, either privately or publicly, collections of various related works. (Back to top)

Printing

How do I print HathiTrust ebooks?
The HathiTrust Digital Library does not offer print functionality within the user interface. You must first download either a single page or the whole book as a PDF and then print from your PDF reader. (Back to top)

Downloading

Can ebooks be downloaded to my computer?
Yes, you may download the full text of all books in the public domain, currently over one million volumes. The full text of works still under copyright may not be viewed or downloaded. (Back to top)

How do I download an ebook?
The ability to download is restricted to current Notre Dame students, faculty and staff. Public domain works will display options to download either a single page or the whole book as a PDF. The following prompt appears after selecting the download option.

login image

After choosing to log in you will be asked to select your affiliated insitution by the following menu. Select University of Notre Dame from the dropdown menu, if not already selected, and then click 'Login' again.

partner affiliation image

You will then be prompted for your Notre Dame NetID credentials before being redirected back to the original ebook page. You will then have to select 'Download PDF' one more time. The PDF will then be built and you will be presented with this final menu for downloading the PDF.

final download image (Back to top)